Cataract surgery

Phacoemulsification cataract surgery

Cataract surgery involves opening the anterior capsule of the lens and removing the cataract, that is the opacified lens, with an ultrasound probe (phacoemulsification). The surgical technique allows fragmentation of the lens and its aspiration through a micro incision from 1.5 mm to 3.0 mm. An artificial lens is then inserted into the eye through a micro-incision, which unfolds after being placed in the lens capsule. The procedure takes from 20 minutes to 30 minutes. One eye is operated on first, then the other eye or if necessary the surgery takes place two weeks later.

FEMTOsecond laser-assisted cataract surgery

Phacoemulsification is the conventional and standard technique for treating cataracts. For several years now, we have been offering cataract surgery in our practice using the latest method, i.e. cataract extraction with the assistance of the FEMTOsecond laser by Zimer LDV Z8®. This new method of opening of the lens, corneal incisions and fragmentation of an opaque lens by the FEMTOsecond laser allows to obtain even better outcomes. The use of the laser increases the precision of the and the safety of the surgical procedure. Probably in the near future, this method will become the standard of cataract treatment.

There are now different implants that can simultaneously correct different vision disorders. Find below the types of implants offered.

A standard spherical lens designed to restore vision at a certain distance and is completely reimbursed by your basic insurance.

A basic monofocal aspherical lens restores near vision or far vision by focusing the light on a single spot (far or near focus). It has the disadvantage of requiring, in the majority of cases, the wearing of glasses for reading (near vision) and while working on the computer (intermediate vision). It allows the perception of contrasts superior to the standard spherical implant, especially in low light conditions.

A toric lens recommended in the case of significant corneal astigmatism. This lens feature may be combined with basic spherical and aspherical lenses as well as within a premium lens.

Premium lens i.e. advanced multifocal or EDOF lens (pseudo progressive – extended depth of focus lens) allows you to be less dependent on glasses at virtually all distances. These lenses are recommended for patients who, following the cataract surgery, wish to remain independent of glasses during their daily activities. This type of lens is also offered to people who want to stop using glasses or contact lenses (i.e. patients with a cataract, with an initial cataract, or even people who do not have yet a cataract) and patients who are medically ineligible to laser corneal refractive surgery. Advanced implants are also an alternative for patients, who want to get rid of glasses but who cannot undergo corneal refractive laser surgery (the procedure is called by acronym CLE – clear lens exchange or RLE – refractive lens exchange) or in patients who are already presbyopic who want to get rid of glasses (the procedure is called by acronym PRELEX – presbyopic lens exchange).

Correction of astigmatism is also possible within above mentioned advanced lenses.

Note that the FEMTOsecond laser-assisted cataract / lens removal procedure optimizes the performance of all implants.

CAUTION

Significant, violent, excessive efforts are prohibited after surgery. The patient needs to stay calm for a few days after surgery.

The procedures are performed on an outpatient basis, under local anesthesia. The patient cannot drive right after the procedure and it is also recommended to come accompanied.

Slide Dr Krzysztof Mika, MD, PhD
Eye specialist doctor FMH
Eye surgeon FMH
Fellow European Board of Ophthalmology

Chemin des Colombettes 12
1202 Geneva, Switzerland

Tel. +41 (0) 22 733 64 46
Fax. +41 (0) 22 733 64 56
drkrmika@gmail.com
Doctor’s office Opening hours Monday – Tuesday
8:30 – 18:00
Wednesday
14:00 – 18:30
Thursday
8:30 – 13:30
Friday
8:30 – 13:00
Visits by appointment only

La chirurgie de la cataracte

L’intervention de la cataracte consiste à remplacer le cristallin naturel opacifié avec l’âge par une lentille artificielle. Il s’agit d’ouvrir la capsule antérieure du cristallin, d’en retirer la cataracte nom désignant le cristallin opaque avec une sonde à ultrasons (phacoémulsification) qui permet ainsi de fragmenter et d’aspirer le cristallin à travers une micro incision de 1,5 à 3,0 mm. Un cristallin artificiel plié pour son introduction est implanté. L’acte chirurgical dure de 20 à 30 minutes. On opère d’abord un œil, puis l’autre ou, si nécessaire, l’un et l’autre à deux semaines d’intervalle.

La phacoémulsification est la technique la plus conventionnelle pour traiter la cataracte. Nous vous proposons l’opération de la cataracte avec assistance de laser FEMTOseconde par Zimer LDV Z8®. La chirurgie « FEMTO cataracte » est une nouvelle technique d’ouverture du cristallin, des incisions cornéennes (capsulorexie) et de fragmentation du noyau cristallinien au laser FEMTOseconde. Elle permet de réaliser un acte plus précis afin d’obtenir des résultats visuels encore plus performants. L’utilisation du laser augmente la sécurité de la procédure chirurgicale et permet des incisions cornéennes précises, une capsulorexie, c’est-à-dire une ouverture ronde dans la capsule antérieure du cristallin et une fragmentation du cristallin du patient.

Il existe aujourd’hui plusieurs implants (lentilles) permettant de corriger simultanément différents troubles de la vue. Trouvez ci-dessous les différents types d’implants proposés:

Une lentille standard, sphérique, conçue pour restaurer la vision à distance unique. Elle est prise en charge par l’assurance de base.

Une lentille basique monofocale asphérique restaure la vision de près ou la vision de loin en focalisant toute la lumière sur un seul foyer (de loin ou de près). Elle a l’inconvénient d’obliger, dans la majorité des cas, le port des lunettes pour la lecture (vision de près) et devant l’ordinateur (vision intermédiaire). Elle permet la perception des contrastes avec une sensibilité supérieure à l’implant standard et surtout dans les conditions de faible luminosité (scotopique).

Une lentille torique préconisée en cas d’astigmatisme cornéen important, permet d’améliorer la vision sans lunettes.

Une lentille avancée c’est-à-dire un implant multifocal ou « implant EDOF » (pseudo progressive – extended depth of focus). Ces lentilles possèdent une profondeur de champ qui permet d’être moins dépendant des lunettes à pratiquement toutes les distances. Bien que dans certains cas elles soient tout de même nécessaires pour certaines activités (la lecture prolongée, la conduite prolongée etc.), les implants avancés permettent de réduire le port de lunettes au quotidien. Ces lentilles sont indiquées chez les patients qui, après l’opération de la cataracte, préfèrent rester indépendants des lunettes ou des lentilles de contact. Les implants sont proposés chez le patient atteint de la cataracte, même débutante. Les implants avancés sont aussi une alternative chez le patient voulant se débarrasser des lunettes mais ne pouvant pas subir de chirurgie réfractive cornéenne au laser (la procédure est nommée par acronyme CLE – clear lens exchange / échange d’une lentille transparente). La correction de l’astigmatisme et de la presbytie (la procédure est nommée par acronyme PRELEX – presbyopic lens exchange / échange d’une lentille chez les presbytes) est aussi possible avec des lentilles avancées.

Le laser FEMTOseconde optimise les performances de ces nouveaux implants avancés.

ATTENTION

Il est recommandé de rester dans le calme après la chirurgie et ce durant quelques jours.

Ces traitements sont pratiqués en ambulatoire, sous anesthésie locale. Le patient ne peut pas conduire après l’intervention. Il est de plus recommandé de venir accompagné.

Slide Dr méd. Krzysztof Mika, PhD
Spécialiste ophtalmologue FMH, FEBO
Spécialiste ophtalmolochirurgien FMH

Chemin des Colombettes 12
1202 Genève, Suisse

Tel. +41 (0) 22 733 64 46
Fax. +41 (0) 22 733 64 56
drkrmika@gmail.com
Cabinet médical Heures d’ouvertures Lundi – Mardi
8:30 – 18:00
Mercredi
14:00 – 18:30
Jeudi
8:30 – 13:30
Vendredi
8:30 – 13:00
Visites uniquement sur rendez-vous