Refractive surgery - laser treatment of vision defects

For a life without glasses, opt for refractive surgery. We offer you the most modern technologies of treatment of refractive errors such as: shortsightedness – myopia, farsightedness – hyperopia and blurry vision – astigmatism. Below are methods of refractive surgery offered by our practice.

 

Intraocular lens implantation (ICL)

Implantation of a lens similar to a contact lens, but implanted inside the eye, into the space between the iris and the natural lens (without removing the patient’s natural lens). It is a method of correcting a vision defect regardless of its nature (myopia, hyperopia and astigmatism). The method is a solution addressed primarily to young patients with high myopia, high hyperopia or astigmatism or to patients where the corneal procedure like PRK or LASIK is not possible to be performed.

Laser Assisted Refractive Lens Exchange (RLE)

This refractive procedure is named Laser Assisted Refractive Lens Exchange (RLE) otherwise known as Clear lens exchange (CLE), or if the procedure is performed on patients over 40 years old, the procedure is called presbyopic lens exchange (PRELEX). The procedure consists in replacing the patient’s natural lens with a properly calculated and personalized lens implant. After the procedure, depending on the pre-operative choice of the patient, the patient becomes independent from distance or near glasses, or even totally independent of glasses if an advanced multifocal lens is selected, i.e. a trifocal lens or EDOF lens (pseudo progressive – extended depth of focus lens). The procedure, under certain conditions, makes it possible to completely abandon corrective glasses. In order for the surgery to be as safe as possible and for the results to be predictable and to correspond to the preoperative calculation, we suggest performing surgery with the assistance of the Zimer LDV Z8® FEMTOsecond laser. The use of a laser increases the safety of the surgical procedure and enables precise corneal incisions, capsulorhexis, i.e. a round opening in the anterior lens capsule, and fragmentation of the patient’s own lens. The use of a laser guarantees precision and safety.

PRK

This refractive procedure namedPRKis a laser vision correction by an excimerlaser. The PRK method is a surface ablation method in which the cornea for the action of an excimer laser is prepared by separating the corneal epithelium with an alcohol solution. Then, using a Bausch & Lomb Technolas® excimer laser, the cornea is modeled to correct the existing sight defect. As pain persists for about 2-3 days after the procedure, the PRK method is used for medical indications in cases where the FEMTOsecond laser cannot be used (e.g. too thin cornea, specific profession performed by the patient or patient preferences). After surgery, the patient wears protective contact lenses for 5 to 6 days. Visual acuity returns after about 2-4 weeks.

FEMTO LASIK (All – LASER LASIK)

LASIK laser vision correction with the use of a FEMTOsecond laser is the most technically advanced refractive treatment offered to you in our practice. During the first stage of the procedure, the corneal flap is created with the most modern Zimer LDV Z8® FEMTOsecond laser. Afterwards, the cornea is modeled to correct the existing sight defect using a Bausch & Lomb Technolas® excimer laser.The final stage of the procedure is the closing of the corneal flap.

The use of the FEMTOsecond laser increases the precision of the resulting corneal flap, which directly influences convalescence time and the range of defects that can be corrected. The unquestionable advantage of the FEMTO LASIK method is the reduction of postsurgical pain and discomfort, the shortening of the eye healing period after the procedure and a significant increase in the safety of the procedure.

Laser vision correction is a quick, safe and practically painless method of getting rid of a vision defect. The patient can see well the day after the procedure, while slight fluctuations in vision may persist for about a month. Continuous improvement and stabilization of vision occurs up to about 6 months after the procedure.

CAUTION

In order to properly qualify for refractive surgery, it is necessary to stop wearing contact lenses for a minimum period of 2 weeks prior to the examination.

All procedures are performed on an outpatient basis, under local anesthesia. The patient cannot drive right after the procedure and it is also recommended to come accompanied.

After each type of refractive treatment, for about a month you should avoid strenuous physical activity, swimming, sunbathing, and staying in a dry and smoky environment. Side effects that are extremely rare may occur and persist for up to several months after the procedure are first of all: dry eyes, decreased vision of contrasts in dim lighting and glare during night driving.

Slide Dr Krzysztof Mika, MD, PhD
Eye specialist doctor FMH
Eye surgeon FMH
Fellow European Board of Ophthalmology

Chemin des Colombettes 12
1202 Geneva, Switzerland

Tel. +41 (0) 22 733 64 46
Fax. +41 (0) 22 733 64 56
drkrmika@gmail.com
Doctor’s office Opening hours Monday – Tuesday
8:30 – 18:00
Wednesday
14:00 – 18:30
Thursday
8:30 – 13:30
Friday
8:30 – 13:00
Visits by appointment only

La chirurgie réfractive - traitement au laser des défauts de la vision

Pour une vie sans lunettes, optez pour la chirurgie réfractive. Nous vous proposons les technologies les plus modernes de correction de la myopie, de l’hypermétropie, de l’astigmatisme et même de la presbytie. Vous trouverez ci-dessous les méthodes de chirurgie réfractive pratiquées dans notre cabinet.

 

Implantation de lentille intraoculaire (ICL)

Implantation d’une lentille similaire à une lentille de contact, mais à l’intérieur de l’œil dans l’espace entre l’iris et la lentille naturelle (sans retirer la lentille naturelle du patient).
C’est une méthode de correction de n’importe quel défaut de vision (myopie, hypermétropie et astigmatisme). Cette méthode est une solution qui s’adresse principalement aux jeunes patients atteints de myopie ou d’hypermétropie élevées ou d’astigmatisme.

Remplacement de lentille claire (RLE)

La procédure également connue sous le nom de remplacement de lentille réfractive (CLE), ou si elle est effectuée sur des patients de plus de 40 ans, celle-ci est appelée remplacement de la lentille presbyte (PRELEX). Cette chirurgie consiste à remplacer le cristallin naturel du patient par un implant dont les valeurs sont calculées sur mesure. Après l’intervention, en fonction du choix préopératoire, le patient peut devenir indépendant des lunettes de distance ou de proximité, ou éventuellement des deux si une lentille multifocale avancée est choisie, c’est-à-dire une lentille trifocale ou une lentille délivrant une profondeur de focalisation étendue ou pseudo-accommodation (EDOF). Dans certaines conditions, la procédure permet d’abandonner complètement les verres correcteurs, bien qu’elles soient encore nécessaires dans le cadre de certaines activités (lecture prolongée, la conduite prolongée etc…). Afin que les résultats correspondent au calcul préopératoire, nous recommandons de réaliser la chirurgie à l’aide du laser Zimer LDV Z8 ® FEMTO. L’utilisation d’un laser augmente la sécurité de la procédure chirurgicale et permet des incisions cornéennes précises, une capsulorexie, c’est-à-dire une ouverture ronde dans la capsule antérieure du cristallin et une fragmentation du cristallin du patient. L’utilisation d’un laser est synonyme de précision et de sécurité.

PKR

PKR ou PRK c’est une procédure effectuée par un laser excimer. La correction de la vue au laser utilisant la méthode PKR est une méthode d’ablation de la surface cornéenne sur laquelle le champ, sous l’action d’un laser excimer, est préparé en éliminant l’épithélium cornéen avec une solution alcoolique. Ensuite, à l’aide d’un laser excimer par Bausch & Lomb Technolas®, la cornée est modélisée pour corriger le défaut de vue existant. Comme la douleur persiste environ 2-3 jours après le traitement, la méthode PRK est utilisée pour des indications médicales dans les cas où le laser FEMTOsecond ne peut pas être utilisé (par exemple dans le cas d’une cornée trop fine, d’une profession spécifique exercée par le patient ou des préférences du patient). Après la chirurgie, le patient porte une lentille de contact protectrice pendant 5 à 6 jours. L’acuité visuelle corrigée revient après 2 à 4 semaines environ.

FEMTO LASIK (Tout – LASER LASIK)

FEMTO LASIK est une correction de la vision au laser excimer par Bausch & Lomb Technolas® avec l’utilisation du laser FEMTOsecond. Ce traitement réfractif est le plus techniquement avancé. Au cours de la première étape de la procédure, le volet cornéen est découpé avec le laser Zimer LDV Z8® FEMTOsecond le plus moderne. Ensuite, à l’aide d’un laser excimer Bausch & Lomb Technolas®, la cornée est modélisée pour corriger le défaut de vision existant. La dernière étape de la procédure est la fermeture du volet cornéen. Après la chirurgie, le patient porte une lentille de contact protectrice pendant 24 heures.

L’utilisation du laser FEMTOsecond augmente la précision de découpe du volet cornéen, réduisant le temps de récupération et une extension de la gamme de défauts visuels pouvant être corrigés. L’avantage incontestable de la méthode FEMTO LASIK est la réduction de la douleur et de l’inconfort, le raccourcissement de la période de cicatrisation des yeux après la procédure et une augmentation significative de la sécurité de la procédure.

Afin de bien se préparer à la chirurgie réfractive, il est nécessaire de ne pas porter de lentilles de contact pendant une période minimale de 2 semaines avant l’examen. Après chaque type de traitement, pendant environ un mois, il est prudent d’éviter les efforts physiques intenses, la natation, les bains de soleil et de rester dans des pièces sèches et enfumées. Les effets secondaires peuvent survenir et persister jusqu’à plusieurs mois après l’intervention. Il s’agit de sécheresse oculaire, la diminution de la vision des contrastes après le crépuscule, l’éblouissement pendant la conduite de nuit.

REMARQUE

All procedures are performed on an outpatient basis, under local anesthesia. The patient cannot drive right after the procedure and it is also recommended to come accompanied.

La correction de la vue au laser est une méthode rapide, sûre et pratiquement indolore pour se débarrasser d’un défaut de vision. Le patient peut récupérer une bonne vision le lendemain de l’intervention. Mais de légères fluctuations de la vision peuvent persister pendant environ un mois. L’amélioration visuelle se poursuit progressivement environ 6 mois après le traitement.

Slide Dr méd. Krzysztof Mika, PhD
Spécialiste ophtalmologue FMH, FEBO
Spécialiste ophtalmolochirurgien FMH

Chemin des Colombettes 12
1202 Genève, Suisse

Tel. +41 (0) 22 733 64 46
Fax. +41 (0) 22 733 64 56
drkrmika@gmail.com
Cabinet médical Heures d’ouvertures Lundi – Mardi
8:30 – 18:00
Mercredi
14:00 – 18:30
Jeudi
8:30 – 13:30
Vendredi
8:30 – 13:00
Visites uniquement sur rendez-vous