Your children's eyes

Everybody agrees that eyes and their condition is very important for all of us. Most of us cannot imagine life with poor or impaired vision. It is thought crucial to take a proper care of your child’s eyes from the beginning. Please find below some suggestions, what to do in order for a good eye development, in order to maintain the good sight and the healthy eye.

Encourage you and others for a healthy eye care habits.
  • Taking regular breaks after every 35 – 45 minutes of reading, writing, playing on the computer or using electronic devices is highly recommended and essential to maintain good vision. Time spent on electronic devices such as tablets, mobile phones or handheld devices should be reduced and depends on the child’s age. Remember that television or other entertainment media devices should be avoided for infants and children under age 3. A child’s eye and brain are developing structures that may be damaged for life if they are incorrectly stimulated and stay under strain.
  • Provide adequate light when your child is reading or playing. While reading, your child should be about 30-40 cm away from the book or even slightly further while on the electronic device.
  • Sleep well – getting at least eight, nine hours of sleep each night is also important in preventing your child’s eyes from getting strained and is essential for the correct eye development.
  • Sunglasses with ultraviolet light protection or protection accessories such as hats etc. play a very important role in preventing eye fatigue and eye burns and are essential to maintain good vision for years to come.
  • It is scientifically proven that outdoor activities delay the development of myopia. Therefore, incorporating outdoor activities such as swimming, cycling, hiking, skiing etc. is beneficial and essential to maintain good vision.
  • A well balanced nutrition is crucial for our health also essential to maintain good vision. Eating vegetables and fruits that are high in microelements such as lutein and zeaxanthin have been found to protect eyes from free radical damage. These microelements can be found in foods such as avocados, berries, brussels sprout, carrots, collard greens, corn, egg yolks, grapes, kiwi, pistachios, spinach, orange peppers, zucchini and orange juice. Consuming fish like salmon, herring and tuna is also beneficial for the eyes and it’s development since they are rich in omega-3 fatty acids necessary for the eye including retina.
  • Regular eye controls are essential to maintain good vision and may be crucial for a correct children’s’ eye development.

Remember – it is better to be safe than sorry – the earlier an eye problem is detected, the earlier an appropriate treatment can be recommended ensuring correct eye development and life-long benefits.

Slide Dr Krzysztof Mika, MD, PhD
Eye specialist doctor FMH
Eye surgeon FMH
Fellow European Board of Ophthalmology

Chemin des Colombettes 12
1202 Geneva, Switzerland

Tel. +41 (0) 22 733 64 46
Fax. +41 (0) 22 733 64 56
drkrmika@gmail.com
Doctor’s office Opening hours Monday – Tuesday
8:30 – 18:00
Wednesday
14:00 – 18:30
Thursday
8:30 – 13:30
Friday
8:30 – 13:00
Visits by appointment only

Les yeux de vos enfants

La santé de nos yeux est une de nos préoccupations majeure. Avoir une vision faible ou altérée est inimaginable pour tous. Il est essentiel de prendre soin de nos yeux dès le plus jeune âge. Pour un bon développement oculaire, afin de maintenir une bonne vue et conserver un œil sain, prenons de bonnes habitudes.

En voici une suggestion:
  • Il est fortement recommandé de prendre des pauses régulières toutes les 30 à 45 minutes de lecture, d’écriture, mais surtout sur ordinateur ou autres écrans (télévision, tablettes, téléphones portables, liseuses…) Le temps passé dessus doit être réduit et dépend de l’âge de l’enfant. Les yeux et le cerveau d’un enfant sont des structures fragiles et leur développement peut être endommagé à vie s’ils ne sont pas correctement stimulés. C’est pourquoi il est interdit de mettre son enfant devant un écran jusqu’à l’âge de 3 ans.
  • Fournissez un éclairage adéquat lorsque votre enfant lit ou joue. Pendant la lecture, votre enfant doit être à environ 30 à 40 cm du livre ou même légèrement plus loin lorsqu’il est sur écran.
  • Bien dormir : au moins huit ou neuf heures par nuit est également important pour éviter que les yeux de votre enfant ne se fatiguent. Le repos total (paupières fermées) est essentiel pour le bon développement des yeux.
  • Les lunettes de soleil avec protection contre la lumière ultraviolette ou des accessoires de protection tels que des chapeaux, etc. jouent un rôle très important dans la prévention de la fatigue et des brûlures oculaires et sont essentielles pour maintenir une bonne vision future.
  • Il est scientifiquement prouvé que les activités de plein air retardent le développement de la myopie. Il est donc important de stimuler la vision de l’enfant en privilégiant des sorties et des activités extérieures.
  • Une alimentation équilibrée est cruciale pour notre santé, également essentielle pour maintenir une bonne vision. Il a été démontré que la consommation de légumes et de fruits riches en micro-éléments tels que la lutéine et la zéaxanthine protège les yeux des dommages causés par les radicaux libres. Ces micro-éléments peuvent être trouvés dans des aliments tels que les avocats, les baies, les choux de Bruxelles, les carottes, le chou vert, le maïs, les jaunes d’œufs, les raisins, le kiwi, les pistaches, les épinards, les poivrons orange, les courgettes et le jus d’orange. La consommation de poissons comme le saumon, le hareng et le thon – riches en acides gras oméga-3 – est également bénéfique pour le développement des yeux y compris la rétine.
  • Des contrôles oculaires réguliers et dès le plus jeune âge sont les bienvenus pour maintenir une bonne vision.

N’oubliez pas – il vaut mieux prévenir que guérir – plus tôt un problème oculaire est détecté, plus tôt un traitement approprié peut être recommandé, garantissant un développement oculaire correct et des bienfaits tout au long de la vie.

Slide Dr méd. Krzysztof Mika, PhD
Spécialiste ophtalmologue FMH, FEBO
Spécialiste ophtalmolochirurgien FMH

Chemin des Colombettes 12
1202 Genève, Suisse

Tel. +41 (0) 22 733 64 46
Fax. +41 (0) 22 733 64 56
drkrmika@gmail.com
Cabinet médical Heures d’ouvertures Lundi – Mardi
8:30 – 18:00
Mercredi
14:00 – 18:30
Jeudi
8:30 – 13:30
Vendredi
8:30 – 13:00
Visites uniquement sur rendez-vous